INDEPENDENT GUIDE

Some links earn us a commission. Our findings come from the evidence.

How we’re funded ↗

Research profile · Express 3 stock avatars; quality unscored; web editor assessed separately

Synthesia, researched.

Manual scene and brand editing on the platform. Overall verdict withheld. Explore the findings, limitations and 15 cited sources below.

Evidence verdict Not established 27% coverage

We are withholding an overall verdict on Synthesia. Evidence coverage is 27%, below the 60% our method requires for a tool-level finding. Pricing and export specifications are now documented. The annual pricing does not reconcile across Synthesia's own pages, so no annual figure is published.

Researched scope
Express 3 stock avatars; quality unscored; web editor assessed separately
Best supported for
Training, onboarding and localization
Principal limitation
No sufficient independent Express 3 stock tests
Accepted sources
15 · 3 of 11 criteria supported

Best for, and not for

Best supported use

Training, onboarding and localization. The strongest finding is manual scene and brand editing (platform only).

Where the evidence warns

No sufficient independent Express 3 stock tests.

What the evidence supports, criterion by criterion

3 of 11 applicable criteria have enough accepted evidence to say something. The rest are listed below them, unscored.

CriterionEvidenceWhat we found
Workflow and editability Limited evidence Manual scene and brand editing is useful at platform level.Platform workflow transfers cautiously; avatar-specific edit controls may differ.
Output specifications and delivery Moderately supported Export is documented as MP4 at 1920×1080, with stock-avatar counts rising by tier from 9 on Basic to 240+ on Enterprise. Express-3 avatars are documented as a staged rollout.Those counts are not Express-3 counts, and tier-specific Express-3 availability is not published.
Pricing and value Moderately supported Monthly pricing is documented: Basic free with 10 minutes, Starter $29 with 10, Creator $89 with 30. Credits are defined at 2 per second, or 120 per finished minute.The annual figures do not reconcile — the pricing cards and the FAQ disagree — so no annual price is published here. Credits also fund non-video features, so an allowance is not a guaranteed minute count.

Not established

Researched, but the available public evidence does not support a conclusion. These are gaps, not low scores.

  • Visual fidelity and aesthetics — Searched on 14 September 2026 for Express-3 evaluations in academic and professional sources; nothing meeting our rules was found. One video review was rejected as it did not state a method.
  • Temporal stability and artifact control — Searched on 14 September 2026 for Express-3 evaluations in academic and professional sources; nothing meeting our rules was found. One video review was rejected as it did not state a method.
  • Prompt or script adherence and control — Searched on 14 September 2026 for Express-3 evaluations in academic and professional sources; nothing meeting our rules was found. One video review was rejected as it did not state a method.
  • Lip synchronization — The independent review sweep on 13 September 2026 found no qualifying evaluation of Express-3 stock avatars for this criterion.
  • Avatar naturalness — The independent review sweep on 13 September 2026 found no qualifying evaluation of Express-3 stock avatars for this criterion.
  • Voice and audio quality — The independent review sweep on 13 September 2026 found no qualifying evaluation of Express-3 stock avatars for this criterion.
  • Identity and gesture consistency — The independent review sweep on 13 September 2026 found no qualifying evaluation of Express-3 stock avatars for this criterion.
  • Localization and presentation control — The independent review sweep on 13 September 2026 found no qualifying evaluation of Express-3 stock avatars for this criterion.

Pricing

Published list price, normalised to a five-second generation. Assumes full use of the plan allocation, before tax, no retakes — so real cost per clip you keep is higher.

PlanCost / 5sResolutionAudio
Starter annual total$0.151080p MP4Presenter speech
Creator annual total$0.171080p MP4Presenter speech
Starter monthly$0.241080p MP4Presenter speech
Creator monthly$0.251080p MP4Presenter speech

All Synthesia pricing scenarios and how they were normalised. Prices verified 2026-09-13 and change without notice.

Alternatives

Same category, so genuinely comparable. We do not rank across categories.

  • HeyGen — Marketing and social video with a talking avatar, plus voice cloning and translation. Limited evidence.

Sources

Every finding above traces to one of these. Version match records how closely each source matches Express 3 stock avatars; quality unscored; web editor assessed separately.

SourceTypeVersion matchAccessed
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
SynthesiaOfficial documentationExact2026-09-10
AIGearToolsCredible user experienceFamily2026-09-10
AIToolBlazeSpecialist technical reviewFamily2026-09-10
AIToolSpotsCredible user experienceFamily2026-09-10
AIUnpackingSpecialist technical reviewFamily2026-09-10
CodyGeneral comparison articleUnknown2026-09-10
G2Professional hands-on reviewFamily2026-09-10
INFUSE IAGeneral comparison articleUnknown2026-09-10
Affiliate disclosure. Some links below earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we publish — see which tools we earn nothing from.